In Over My Head

I thought I could isolate myself from the world, in a city exploding with people.

I imagined I could escape the bitterness and hold on to the true sincerity of who I used to be.

I dreamt I could do it all alone and never ask for help.

I envisioned the fairytale and glorified the fantasy.

I thought happiness was just something I was never working hard enough for.

I believed my brain worked differently and that was okay.

I wanted a piece of mind that I would never find.

I have thought over the past much too often.

I have been too nice, too mean, too harsh and too slow to pick up the lessons that have fallen in my lap.

I pick the wrong people at the wrong times.

I let the thoughts sit for much too long.

I thought I could go it alone.

I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

