Full Speed Ahead

Things are moving fast these days.  That’s both exciting and scary for me.  I met with my advisor this week to talk about what my next steps should be.  I will be graduating in approximately 10 months.  There are many universities to research and decide on, personal essays to write and many scholarships to apply for.  I’m thrilled that my dream is happening.  At the same time, I’m always wondering how I will pull it all together.

When you attend college at my age, it isn’t clear what to expect.  Now that I’m in my third semester, I believe I get it.  This experience hasn’t just been a way to hopefully secure a decent career for myself in the future.  College has been a forum to meet new people, open my mind to things I never used to think about, awaken my critical thinking skills, something to give my all to, but most of all it is shaping me.  When I am done with this journey, that I am only just beginning, I will be someone who knows what she wants and knows how to get it.  I am partly there now, but I have so far to go.  The path is long, but the view is worth it.

Every night before I go to bed, I think about what I am working towards.  I remember how lucky I am to be given the opportunity to work towards my dreams.  I envision my future and I know that all the struggle is for a reason.  This is all happening and it is so very real.

Leave a Reply

