Week One

So I didn’t exactly eat the healthiest this week.  Let’s just say that I’m not allowed to buy a jar of peanut butter every again…

With that being said, I didn’t eat horribly and I have kept my workout schedule quite steadily.  I went to the gym 5 out of the last 8 days, which isn’t bad considering.  I started the couch to 5k running program again. This was very successful for me a couple of years ago before I ran my first, and only, 5k.

Running is crazy painful when you haven’t done it for a long time.  My mind wants to give up often, but I know that my body is more than capable of amazing things.  I made a motivational running playlist for my iPad (music is the only thing that gets me running) and I plan to push on through.  Hopefully by March, I’ll be back up to 3 miles and am able to sign up for one of the many runs that are available here in the Spring/Summer.

Getting to the gym is the easy part mostly.  The minor obstacle is to motivate myself to bundle up in layers when it’s 15 degrees outside and walk those 5 freezing blocks.  The real challenge is sticking to a balanced diet.  I tend to over eat.  It’s mostly healthy things, but I eat too much of them.  So I’ve been recording calories again in the LoseIt app, something that was also very helpful for me a few years back.  Besides that, I’m trying to cook meals full of vegetables ahead of time so that when I’m hungry there is always something available to snack on.

I feel better than I did a week ago.  That is all that matters to me.  Progress is always progress, no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

